Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Cape Cod Commission Reporter

The Cape Cod Commission is one of 13 Regional Planning Agencies in Massachusetts. Others are: Berkshire Regional Planning Commission; Central Massachusetts Regional Planning Commission; Franklin Regional Council of Government; Martha's Vineyard Commission; Merrimack Valley Planning Commission; Metropolitan Area Planning Council; Montachusetts Regional Planning Commission; Nantucket Planning and Economic Development Commission; Northern Middlesex Council of Governments; Old Colony Planning Council; Pioneer Valley Planning Commission; and the Southeastern Regional Planning and Economic Development District.

The Commissions/Councils guide growth and develop programs about housing, elderly services, economic development, coastal zone management, clean air, wetlands and all other areas of concern for each region.

The Cape Cod Commission serves 15 towns of Barnstable County. It was created in 1990. Between 1990 and 1999, Barnsable County was the fastest growing county in mainland Massachusetts.

The Cape Cod Commission Reporter is a publication that started in 1997. The State Library holds this publication in paper (call number MR 352.93 M3 C372) and recent editions are available on line at: www.archives.lib.state.ma/handle/2452/37580.

The Government Documents Staff